Summation of Piracy

After viewing what others had to say on this topic I’ve realized how difficult it really it to take a side on what is right and what is wrong. Even after commenting on fellow classmates blogs and expressing my opinion, I still find my thought to be confusing and somewhat contradicting. I’ve learned that everyone has their own opinion on what should be done and the ideas have been diverse and not in unison as they have been in past weeks. I think this is one of the problems that we face with piracy in the music industry; is that everyone’s idea of piracy is different, which leads us to do what we think is right but is what we are doing actually right? This week’s topic has been hard to express my opinion and I often found myself frustrated trying to make my thoughts make sense. I do believe that artists should be paid for their music especially for new artists who are trying to get their names out there and make a living doing what they love and giving us music that we love. On the other hand there are a large handful of musicians who have more than enough money and it just doesn’t feel the same paying for their songs when you know they really don’t need my additional 99 cents. As for any suggestions to the music industry regarding this piracy issue I still don’t think I have a realistic suggestion that would actually make any difference. My one idea is that perhaps there should be a cap on how much money an album or song can make, therefore giving an equal opportunity to all. The artists will still get paid but eventually the songs will be free. This may seem like an unrealistic idea and potentially unfair to the ones who have to buy it while others can eventually get it for free but all the suggestions I’ve read so far have pros and cons to them as well. I find myself being quite negative and I don’t mean to come off in a bad way but I honestly don’t think that there is an easy fix to this problem. I think that it has already gone too far for anything to change at this point and with technology increasing as it has been I think it will just get worse.

Leave a Reply

